Home practice

If you have trouble sleeping or settling down for the night, try this little before bed sequence.
Whenever I’ve been feeling a bit tense after a long journey or after work, I sometimes do this little sequence with the moon salute instead of a sun salute. If you’ve got 10 minutes after work give it a try and let me know what you think?
The Source of Bija Mantras
To truly understand the transformative power of “Bija Mantras, we need to realize that any form of sound in the universe is vibrational energy. Human speech or words is also a combination of sound waves each of which resonates at specific vibrational frequencies. According to ancient Indian texts as well as the latest works in quantum physics, the whole universe was created through cosmic sound energy which was then followed by heat and light energy and eventually life forms. So sound vibrations are intimately connected to our “prana” or “life energy”.
How Bija Mantras Work
In Vedic healing and spiritual traditions, specific mono syllable seed sounds or “Bija Mantras” were developed to create balance and harmony in the human body, mind and soul. Each and every part of our body functions at a specific rhythm and pulse and when all our systems are balanced and tuned with each other we experience perfect harmony and health. On the other hand, any imbalance in our body can lead to mental, physical or emotional dis-ease. Sound therapy is a very effective way to heal and rejuvenate ourselves as every cell in our body is mainly composed of water which makes them excellent sound resonators! Thanks to the recent developments in the field of Psychoacoustics, the ancient practice of using sound energy for holistic healing practices is now gaining even more credibility!
A Simple Yet Powerful Bija Mantra Meditation Ritual
In yoga there are 7 specific Bija Mantras that vibrationally align our energy centres or chakras through sound energy:
1. Root Chakra – Bija mantra: LAM (Pronouncd as lum in alum )
2. Sacral Chakra – VAM (vum as in thumb)
3. Solar Plexus Chakra – RAM (rum)
4. Heart Chakra – YAM (yum as in yummy)
5. Throat Chakra – HAM (hum as in humming)
6. Third Eye Chakra – U ( u as in uber)
7. Crown Chakra – Om (aum)
You can chant each mantra while lying down or by sitting in a cross leggedmeditation pose. You can focus on a particular chakra and chant its specific seed mantra repetitively in one sitting or do all seven in succession one after the other. These mantras are very powerful even when they are chanted silently.
The expansion of the mind from the “I” into the all encompassing cosmic energy is a wondrous transformation. Let us all lead each other through this divine journey with unconditional love, light and joy!

2 thoughts on “Home practice

  1. I am very interested in this aspect ( and all others ) of yoga.

    To add to my earlier comment inquiry about men’s yoga. I may be able to arrange a venue at no cost.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s